Skip to content

Our People

Pittsburgh Foundation board members bring to the table decades of leadership experience in government, education, medical, corporate, industrial and nonprofit sectors from across southwestern Pennsylvania. They generously donate many hours of work to ensure that the Foundation effectively fulfills its mission by achieving the goals set out in its strategic plan. For biographies of each board member and director emeritus, visit

Foundation Values at Work

The Pittsburgh Foundation’s work is visible throughout the region, but mostly invisible are the people behind the scenes collaborating with community partners to achieve Foundation goals. Diversity, equity and inclusion have been a key part of the Foundation’s processes for many years, but those efforts were ramped up in 2018 with the formation of a staff Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee. At least one representative from each department serves on the committee, which is led by Charmelle Jackson, vice president of Human Resources and chief Diversity, Equity and Inclusion officer. In 2021, that group changed its name to the DEIA committee, adding the “A” for accessibility.

Then, in 2022, two organizations recognized those efforts. SharedXpertise Media, publishers of HRO Today magazine, selected The Pittsburgh Foundation for the DEI Program of the Year. The publisher chose the Foundation from among eight other finalists in the nationwide competition. In addition, the Foundation was recognized as a “leader of distinction” at the HRO Today Summit. The other organization that honored the Foundation was the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette. For the second consecutive year, the newspaper conferred on the Foundation an award as one of the Greater Pittsburgh Top Workplaces.

Board of Directors

John R. McGinley Jr.
John R. McGinley Jr.
Anne Lewis
Anne Lewis
Vice Chair
Kamal Nigam
Kamal Nigam
Laura Shapira Karet
Laura Shapira Karet
Will Allen
Will Allen
Marc Cherna
Marc Cherna
Debra Demchak
Debra Demchak
Laura Ellsworth
Laura Ellsworth
William Generett Jr. JD
William Generett Jr. JD
Reverend Glenn Grayson
Reverend Glenn Grayson
Richard I. Lerach
Richard I. Lerach
David A. Lewis, M.D.
David A. Lewis, M.D.
Amy K. Marsh
Amy K. Marsh
Terry Miller, MSW
Terry Miller, MSW
Antoinette (Toni) Murphy
Antoinette (Toni) Murphy
Jordan R. Pallitto
Jordan R. Pallitto
Walter H. Smith Jr., Ph.D.
Walter H. Smith Jr., Ph.D.
William Strickland
William Strickland
Richard W. Taylor
Richard W. Taylor

Board Emeriti

Robert P. Bozzone
James Broadhurst
Joanne Burley, Ph.D
Estelle F. Comay
Gregory Curtis
Edward J. Donnelly III, M.D.
Kim Tillotson Fleming
Lee B. Foster II
John C. Harmon
David McL. Hillman
Peter Mathieson
Mary Lou McLaughlin
Vincent J. Quatrini Jr.
Nancy Rackoff
Edith L. Shapira, M.D.
Aaron Walton
Nancy Washington, Ph.D.

Advisory Board

The Community Foundation 
of Westmoreland County
Executive Committee
Jordan R. Pallitto, Chair
Michael P. Reese, Vice Chair
Kim Kramer
Jeff Mallory, Ed.D.
Scott E. Avolio, Esq.
Kevin Bode
Judge Gary Caruso
Lori Trautwine
Alyssa Kunselman
Maria Lavelle
Erica Nuckles, Ph.D.
Michael Quatrini
Judge Michael J. Stewart II
Annie Urban
Volunteer Committee Members
Brian Bender, Audit
David Hillman, Investment
Lee B. Foster II, Investment
Dwight Keating, Investment
Rick Lerach, Development and Donor Services
Bryan Lewis, Investment
Joe Lloyd, Investment
David Malone, Investment
Peter Mathieson, Investment
Jeff Moyer, Investment
Vince Quatrini, Development and Donor Services

Foundation Staff

Emmie Calland, Director of Strategic Projects and Foundation Initiatives
Brittany Ezell, Executive Assistant to the CEO
Whitney Falba, Administrative Support Assistant to the Executive Office
Lisa Schroeder, President and CEO
Jennie Zioncheck, Chief of Staff and Strategic Implementation
Deanna Garcia, Communications Officer
Christian Pelusi, Senior Communications Officer
Kristin Raup, Senior Manager, Digital and Web Communications
Doug Root, Vice President of Communications and External Affairs
HR and Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Charmelle Jackson, Vice President of Human Resources and Chief Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Officer
Sydney Richards, Human Resources Generalist
Development and Donor Services
Nancy Allison, Donor Services Officer
Lindsay Aroesty, Vice President of Development and Donor Services
Katie Belonus, Associate, Center for Philanthropy
Taren Lumley, Research Coordinator, Center for Philanthropy
Nancy Marshall, Director of Donor Services
Kate McKenzie, DSc., CAP®, Director of Development
Lydia McShane, Administrative Assistant, Donor Services
Catherine Mutunga, Administrative Assistant, Development and Donor Services
Amy Razem, CAP®, Senior Development Officer
Neil Straub, Business Process Associate
Sara Swaney, Development Officer
Bea Thomas, Donor Services Officer
Kelly Uranker, Vice President of the Center for Philanthropy
Brittany Zuckerman, Senior Donor Services Officer
Program & Community Engagement
Taliya Allen, Program Associate for the Arts
Jamillia Kamara Covington, M.Ed., Senior Program Officer for Education
Joshua Devine, Economic Mobility Officer
Jane Downing, Senior Program Officer, Economic and Community Development
Chris Ellis, Consultant, Grantmaking and Special Initiatives
Gayle Golding, Program Assistant
Tika Good, Program Associate
Nicole Henninger, Program Officer for Arts and Culture
Traci Johnson, MPM, Director of Grantmaking
Michelle McMurray, MSW, Vice President of Program and Community Engagement
Katie Potts, Program Assistant
Mary Kate Ranii, Program Officer, Environment and Community Health
Jill Ritchie, Senior Program Administrator
Public Health & Research
Bri Casaus, Assessment and Learning Associate
Brittany Eltma, Public Health Administrative Assistant
Beth Murdock, Community Research and Learning Officer
Michael Yonas, DrPH, Vice President for Community Partnerships and Learning
Policy & Community Impact
Maura Jacob, Policy and Community Impact Officer
Phil Koch, Vice President of Policy and Community Impact
Investments & Resource Stewardship
Zack Azzarelli, Investment Operations Associate
Jonathan Brelsford, CFA, CAIA, Chief Investment Officer and Senior Vice President of Operations
Bradley Jones, CFA, CAIA, EA, CAP®, Investment Manager, External Portfolios
Finance & Operations
Mark Briski, IT Systems Analyst
Nina Brooks, IT Systems Manager
Kiel Conjack, Accounting Manager
LeAnne Disco, Staff Accountant
Stacey Graham, Accounting Coordinator
Ashley Hezel, Director of Operations
John Hrenick, Staff Accountant
Danitra Mason, CPA, Assistant Controller
Beth Ann Mellon, Accounting Manager
Carol Joy Powell, Senior Scholarship Coordinator
Keith Reabe, Finance and Investments Project Manager
Emily Rousseau, Grants Manager
Dot Sikora, Senior Grants Coordinator
Bryan Tait, CPA, Vice President of Finance and Operations
Brianna Ziemak, Funds Manager
The Community Foundation of Westmoreland County
Aubrey Marquis, Donor Services Officer
McCrae Martino, Executive Director
Allison Womer, Program Assistant